Batman Arkham Asylum, Batman Games in Order Release Date

08 Aug, 2022 Last Update 1 year ago

Batman: Arkham Asylum is an action-adventure game developed by Rocksteady Studios in 2009 and published by Eidos Interactive in association with Warner Bros. Based on the DC Comics superhero Batman and written by veteran Batman writer Paul Dini, Arkham: His Asylum was inspired by the ongoing comic book anthology. In the main story of the game, Batman fights his nemesis, the Joker. The Joker takes control of his refuge in Arkham, captures Batman along with several captured enemies, and hatches an elaborate plot to destroy Gotham City with a hidden bomb. I threaten Most of his characters in the game are voiced by actors who have appeared in other media based on the DC Animated Universe. Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill, and Arlene Sorkin will play Batman, Joker, and sidekick Harley Quinn respectively.

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Batman Arkham Asylum

One of the most popular superhero video game series is the Batman Arkham series. In the early 2000s, superhero-based video games failed to meet the high expectations of fans because they were unsuitable adaptations of hit superhero movies for the big screen. In the early 2000s, no superhero video game made a name for itself in the gaming world. Superhero games were short-lived at the time, as other popular games in other genres quickly overtook them. Things started to change in August 2009 when a new game came out. With this title, a famous and very successful video game series began. In 2009, the Batman Arkham series began making its way into the gaming world.


Batman: Arkham Asylum, Release Date, Writer, Awards, Genres

Initial Release Date

25 August 2009


Paul Dini


Single-player video game


BAFTA Games Award for Best Game, MORE


VGX Award for Game of the Year, MORE


Action-adventure game, Fighting game, Stealth game, Beat 'em up


Rocksteady Studios, Feral Interactive, Virtuos


Batman: Arkham



Batman Arkham Asylum

Batman: Arkham Asylum is an action-adventure game viewed from a third-person perspective. The playable character appears on the screen and the camera can be freely moved around it. The player controls Batman as he searches for Arkham Asylum, a safe facility for criminally insane people off the coast of Gotham City. Batman Arkham Asylum Games in Order of its Release. If you want to play the Batman Arkham Asylum game series in order of its release, this list is for you.


1. Batman: Arkham

Release Year – 2009
The first game in the series was Batman: Arkham Asylum. This game is based on the story of Joker's escape from prison. A team of other criminals helps Batman restore order to take over the facility and resolve the crisis. The game is well executed, mixing lots of stealth elements with simple yet interesting combat elements. As mentioned above, the game is available on a variety of devices.


Supported Device – Xbox360, Xbox One, Windows, macOS, PlayStation 3, and PlayStation 4


2. Batman: Arkham City

Release Year – 2011

Soon after the success of Arkham Asylum, the next installment, Arkham City, was released. After an incident in Arkham his asylum, Arkham criminal, Dr. Hugo Strange, part of Gotham City turns into Arkham City. Catwoman made her debut in this chapter and also appeared in parts of the game.

Batman Arkham Asylum

Supported Device – PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Windows, Wii U, Mac OS, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.


3. Batman: Arkham Origins

Release Year – 2013

Here is part 3 of the series. Batman: Arkham Origins is, as the title suggests, a prequel to Arkham Asylum. The third part of the series was published by WB Montreal in 2013. The game is based on the early career of Bruce Wayne, who was chased by the Black Mask and his eight assassins. The gameplay was pretty much the same as the rest.

Supported Device – PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Windows.


4. Batman: Arkham Knight

Release Year – 2015

It is the fourth game in the main series and is currently the latest game. Arkham City picks up where it left off, but this time the action takes place on the streets of Gotham City. The main enemies in this game are the Scarecrow and the mysterious character Arkham Knight. The Bat mobile’s inclusion was a huge boon to the gameplay in this part. In other aspects, the gameplay remains mostly unchanged, with only minor changes.


Supported Device – PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Windows.


Batman Arkham Games – Spinoff Series and Expansion

Batman Arkham Asylum

Other than the main series of Batman Arkham, there were some portable series and expansions. These are mentioned below.


1. Batman: Arkham City Lockdown

Release Year – 2011
Supported Device – iOS (2011) and Android (2013)


2. Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

Release Year – 2013
Supported Device – Nintendo 3DS, PlayStation Vita, Windows, PlayStation 3, Wii U, and Xbox 360


3. Batman: Arkham VR

Release Year – 2016
Supported Device – PlayStation VR, Windows (2017)


Batman Timeline Order

  • Batman: Arkham Origins (2013)
  • Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate (2013)
  • Batman: Arkham Asylum (2009)
  • Batman: Arkham City Lockdown (2011)
  • Batman: Arkham City (2011)
  • Batman: Arkham VR (2016)
  • Batman: Arkham Knight (2015)

That’s how you should play the series of Batman games in order. I hope all your doubts are cleared about the release of the games. Now, you can play the games according to their release.